Unstoppable Momentum

May 7, 2013

Track List

  1. Unstoppable Momentum
  2. Can’t Go Back
  3. Lies and Truths
  4. Three Sheets to the Wind
  5. I ll Put a Stone On your Cairn
  6. A Door Into Summer
  7. Shine on American Dreamer
  8. Jumpin In
  9. Jumpin Out
  10. The Weight of the World
  11. A Celebration


Produced by Joe Satriani and Mike Fraser
Recorded by Mike Fraser

  • Joe Satriani (guitars, bass, keyboards)
  • Vinnie Colaiuta (drums, percussion)
  • Chris Chaney (bass)
  • Mike Keneally (keyboards)

All songs written by Joe Satriani
Published by Strange Beautiful Music/ASCAP


Album Review

Three years after Black Swans And Wormhole Wizards, and many tours with Chickenfoot and the G3, Joe is coming back solo with Unstoppable Momentum. This album has already marked a shift in his career, the master has changed his line-up to experiment and give free vent to his creativity. Mike Keneally who was featuring on the last album is back again, and it’s the legendary drummer Vinnie Colaiuta (Jeff Beck, Zappa) and Chris Chaney (Jane’s Addiction, Alanis Morissette) on bass who joined the rhythm section.

The album begins with a bang : « Unstoppable Momentum », the five-beat song is the illustration of what Joe wanted us to know, is still there and he continues to produce music in an unstoppable momentum of creativity! The riff is very powerful, a masterpiece from start to finish with the crazy drum solo at the end. More than it was on the previous records, Joe likes to go crazy with the tremolo bar for example on « Lies and Truths » that is supported by particular jungle groove and « Jumpin In », tainted with unusual augmented accents.

Mike Keneally is a asset in the band, he takes a bigger place than he had before on the previous record, in « The Weight Of The World » where he does the intro and the theme in unison with Joe, he settle the ambiance on the rubato song « I’ll Put A Stone On Your Cairn » that is the introduction of « A Door Into Summer », a fiendishly effective Rock song that succeedes to « Summer Song » on the form.
This Unstoppable Momentum album was also the album of the risks, such daring it was to make « Three Sheets To The Wind »! The arrangement is based on the contrast between a funny melody and a crazy solo, the result is unique and stands out in minds.

Joe Satriani keeps on evolving, his new style is massive, definitively Rock and flirting with Jazz accents and very modern on the graphic side, the album cover is orange like his new guitar the JS2410 and the typography used on the title is the archetype of modernity. The new melodies are very expressive, you can sing them all even if you’re not a musician, that’s just magic. For the live tour that was on year and a half and 143 shows long, Joe took with him Mike Keneally and both Bryan Beller and Marco Minnemann form the Aristocrats (with Guthrie Govan), Joe get along with them as he told us in our last interview and they will featuring on the next solo record…